Add to SUNY Orange Google Calendar

Share |

Back to Calendar :: Back to Current Announcements

My World, My Vision: pastels and oils by Dennis Fanton

Dates:
05/04/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/07/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/08/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/09/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/10/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/11/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/14/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/15/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/16/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/17/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/18/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/20/2018 (Sun): 1:00 pm- 3:30 pm
05/21/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/22/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/23/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/24/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/25/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/28/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/29/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/30/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/31/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/01/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/04/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/05/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/06/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/07/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/08/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/11/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/12/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/13/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
Category: Campus Events
Description:

Paralleling his life to Robert Frost’s poem “The Road Not Taken,” Dennis Fanton has finally been able to take the road of choice, that of art, and the joy this track affords him is evident in his paintings. A solo show of his pastels and oils opens May 4 and continues through June 13 in Orange Hall Gallery Loft, its title: ....My World, My Vision. The thirty works in the show reflect the influence of impressionism; yet, they are very much his own as expressed through his use of color.

Fanton finds his artistic journey to be fulfilling as he is open to experimentation using different approaches in medium and style.  He believes that potential subjects for paintings are “all around us and it is up to the artist to capture the inspiration and present it to the viewer.” He “prefers on site painting which involves the use of all my senses,” he continues.  However, this comes with risks because not all situations are predictable. His ability and willingness to challenge himself with new ideas gives his artworks a freshness which quickly engages viewers.

On Sunday, May 20, Fanton will be on hand for the art reception celebrating his show along with the 2018 Middletown Art Group Members’ Spring Exhibition. The 1 to 3:30 p.m. reception is free and open to the public. Fanton is the treasurer of MAG and is an active member of the Middletown Art Group, the Goshen Art League, the Orange County Arts Council, and the Wallkill River School where he is also an instructor. He continually encourages his students to explore their own painting style. He credits the late Lisa Specht, an instructor at the Art Students League and leader of the Garret Society, with reigniting his desire to find his individual path of expression. Along the way, he has been awarded a “Best in Show” and numerous “Awards of Excellence” in the many shows.

Before his military obligations and career choices detoured his focus on art, he had attended the Newark School of Fine and Industrial Arts in the late 60s and later transferred to the DuCret School of Art with a focus in advertising.  In addition to his art, he has a passion for gardening which has led him to become a Master Gardener through Cornell Cooperative Extension of Orange County. His home gardens are often subjects of his paintings. Come and enjoy a “walk” down his now chosen road and take in his view through his artworks.

Gallery hours are Monday through Thursday - 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Friday - 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. through May, and in June, Monday through Thursday - 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. only. The gallery is closed Memorial Day Weekend.

Orange Hall is located on the campus of SUNY Orange at the corner of Wawayanda and Grandview Avenues, Middletown. (GPS: 24 Grandview Ave.) Questions may be directed to Cultural Affairs at (845) 341-4891 and cultural@sunyorange.edu. Also, visit the Cultural Affairs website at www.sunyorange.edu/culturalaffairs.

Location: Orange Hall Gallery and Loft
Fee: FREE
Phone: (845) 341-4891
E-mail: cultural@sunyorange.edu
Web Page: Follow this link
Announcement: My World, My Vision: pastels and oils by Dennis Fanton