Facebook Ad Pixel Year-End Awards Presented at Convocation

2021 News Archives

Year-End Awards Presented at Convocation

May 19, 2021

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – SUNY Orange President Dr. Kristine Young and Dawn Ansbro, executive director of the SUNY Orange Foundation, co-hosted a Zoom session on May 18 to remotely celebrate the issuance of year-end academic achievement awards, scholarships to graduating students, and club and organizational awards.

Traditionally presented during the College’s annual Convocation and Awards Ceremony, usually held in person at Middletown’s Paramount Theatre, this year’s 62nd Convocation was conducted virtually, as was last year’s event, due to the COVID-19 pandemic’s social distancing and mass gathering restrictions.

In addition to the year-end awards, the College acknowledged three students who earned the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence (Nicholas Kanan of Middletown, Elizabeth Kimber of Wallkill and Jennifer Tancin of Fishkill). Elisheva Slomiuc, of West Point, was the recipient of an evening-best four scholarships as well as a co-curricular award for her contributions to the College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for students at two-year colleges. She received the David Kotler Memorial Scholarship, Elizabeth Parkhurst Memorial Scholarship: John B. Parkhurst Creative Writing Award and Trustee Edward P. Dougherty Memorial Scholarship.

Approximately 120 students, friends and College employees joined the Zoom session to celebrate and accept congratulations from the College, as well as the Foundation, which oversees the scholarship program and awards approximately $400,000 annually to incoming, continuing and graduating students.


SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence

Nicholas Kanan, Elizabeth Kimber, Jennifer Tancin



Alford Biology Scholarship: Brandon F. Rodriguez

Amy Bull Crist Scholarship: Antinea Sanchez

Apprentice Players Theatre Arts Scholarship: Nicholas Kanan

Audrey A. Reilly Memorial Music Scholarship: Kevin M. Hyppolite

Business Club Scholarship: Leevya Rivera

Charles J. Reilly Business Education Scholarship: Ashlynne Demshick

Christine M. Morrison Scholarship: Daniela Rich

Colonel John T. Westermeier Award: Morgan Mansueto

David Kotler Memorial Scholarship: Elisheva Slomiuc

Dr. Cortland R. Mapes Biology Scholarship: Charles Vasquez, Antinea Sanchez, Amanda Brosnan

Dr. Hannah Vuolo Memorial Scholarship: Iliana Lopez

Dr. Manuel Rosenblum Theater Scholarship: Nicholas Kanan

Dr. Marvin Feman Scholarship: Michael Eaton

Elizabeth Parkhurst Memorial Scholarship: Elisheva Slomiuc

Evening Nursing Scholarship: Natalie Gerena

Faculty/Staff Graduating Scholarship: Fatou Jammeh

Flo Hannes OTA Scholarship: Oluyinka Yesufu

George F. Large Scholarship: Bryana Andreu

Seeley McClure Memorial Scholarship: Nikaiya Godlevsky

Helen K. and George R. (Bucky) Bartlett Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Enrique Contreras-Nava

Herbert M. Sussman Biology Scholarship: Amanda Brosnan

Ivan Medina Memorial Scholarship: Nikaiya Godlevsky

John B. Parkhurst Creative Writing Award: Maritza Jahn, Elisheva Slomiuc

Max H. Golub Memorial Scholarship: Giovanni Scotti

Newburgh Nursing Student Faculty Award: Catherine Ramirez

Odell S. Hathaway Scholarship: Vanessa Grisales

Orange County Society of New York for Collegiate Study Scholarship: Brythanie Despagne

Patrick B. Sweeney Annual Scholarship: Abigail Murphy

Retiree Council 14 of the NYS United Teachers Scholarship: Janacia James 

Ruth Pollack Memorial Scholarship: Chang Hong He

Trustee Edward P. Dougherty Memorial Scholarship: Elisheva Slomiuc

Walter Albrecht Memorial Scholarship: Shawnty Reeder

William F. Ehlers, Jr. Scholarship in Anthropology: Sean Janes

William O. Bell Sr. Memorial Scholarship: Max Wolbeck


Student Club Awards

Apprentice Players: Natalie Bronson

Board of Activities: Ryan J. Demarse, Vanessa Perez

Business Club: Lee’vya Rivera

COTA Club (Changing Outlooks Through Activities): Kristen Cashman, Marissa Coyne, Jessica Ropiecki

Criminal Justice Club: Richard Calore, Kelli E. Merry

Future Teacher’s Association: Kayla Ballard, Marisa Cannatella, Kristina Cleary

Newburgh Board of Activities: Cesar Bobadilla

Nursing Club: Megan Delaney, Erin Grogan, Elizabeth Koenig

Phi Theta Kappa: Spencer O. Hughes, Elisheva M. Slomiuc

Physical Therapy Assistant Club: Dara Bordman, Maddisen Melley, Kimberly Roman

SADHA (Student American Dental Hygiene Association): Brittany M. Fraser, Dyan E. Jones, Nicole C. Valeri

SAGA (Sexuality and Gender Alliance): Ryan J. Demarse, Maritza Jahn, John Morin

Student Senate: Nikaiya Godlevsky, Nicholas Kanan, Christopher Warren

Wrestling Club: Alexsei Gonzalez

I Am A Leader: Richard Calore, Nikaiya Godlevsky, Rosa Matamoros Valle, Nicole Montalvo, Brittany Siegel, Vanessa Wellhausen

Co-Curricular Service Award: Richard Calore

Departmental Awards (Certificate of Merit, Outstanding Scholastic Achievement)

Honors Program: Iliana Lopez, Courtney Pekusic, Jennifer Tancin


Arts and Communication Department

Art: Yudit D. Cruz, Nicolette A. Dilapi, Anthony Pelliccia

Communication/New Media: Jesse A. Barringer. Raquel De Aquino-Henning

Music: Michael Eaton, Chang Hong He, Florence Ruckdeschel

Theatre: Nicholas J. Kanan


Behavioral Sciences Department

Anthropology: Leslie Weisberg

Human Services: Brianna Penrod, Jennifer Powers,

Sociology: Rebecca Hambrick, Jessica Ortega, Sadike Ricketts


Biology Department

Biology: Alexander Brandenburg, Johnathan Linton, Enrique Contreras Nava


Business Department

Accounting (A.A.S.): Tina Brown, Christina Gravel, Michael Slapp

Accounting (A.S.): Hayley Burdi, Martina Regenauer, Fatima Sanchez

Business Administration: Ashlynne Demschick, Avery Maldonado, Daniel Okros

Business Management: Gillian Brodmerkel, Shannon Phelan, Corey Reischer

Medical Office Management: Tiffany Mendoza, Desiree Nesbitt

Office Technologies: Jennifer Schmidt


Clinical Laboratory Science Department

Medical Laboratory Technology: Lisa Gebhard. Megan McKeon. Amanda Morgiewicz


Computer Science & Technology Department

Computer Science: Emily A. Johnson, Tyler D. Miller, Lyle M. Smith

Computer Information Technology – Networking: Vincent J. Grasso, Brian A. Matthews, Lauren M. Williamson

Cyber Security: Zoila Mercedes Loja Gomez, Belisa A. Medina, Nicholas D. Segarra


Criminal Justice Department

Criminal Justice (A.A.S.): Richard Calore

Criminal Justice (A.S.): Andrew M. Carter, Eliana F. Hughes, Adam J. Quinn


Dental Hygiene Department

Dental Hygiene: Jacquelyn R. Bloomer, Brittany M. Fraser, Jolanta I. Miller


Education Department

Early Childhood Development and Care: Dessy Acevedo, Tasha Marie Moakley, Samantha Anne Mooney,

Teacher Careers: Kavita V. Elana, Morgan A. Mansueto, Daniela Renee Rich


English Department

English: Aileen Garcia, Allyson N. Hockler, Rachel A. McManus

Philosophy: Ryan Dembeck, Glynis Halliday, Nicholas Kanan


Mathematics Department

Mathematics: Samantha M. Frisbee, Jean C. Mendoza, Christopher R. Warren


Movement Sciences Department

Exercise Studies: Michael A. Cron, Gillian G. DeWitt, AnJalyna M. Talmadge

Physical Education: Sonnymarie T. Davoren


Nursing Department

Nursing: Natalie Gerena, Dana M. Reeves, Amy M. Senkiew


Occupational Therapy Assistant Department

Occupational Therapy Assistant: Claire Beebe, Joanna Shaw, Kassidy Wagner


Physical Therapist Assistant Department

Physical Therapist Assistant: Taylor Kargauer, Alison Pospisil, Kimberly Roman


Science, Engineering & Architecture Department

Engineering: Joseph McNutt, Charles Whitehouse

Physics: Max Wolbeck