Facebook Ad Pixel SUNY Orange: English - Awards

English Department Awards

The following awards and scholarships are available to students who meet the criteria set by the generous donors and creators of the awards.

Dr. James Lynch Memorial Scholarship

Awarded annually to a full- or part-time, continuing student who demonstrates excellence in scholarly work, majoring in English or Philosophy. Award based upon recommendation of the English Department and accompanied by a student paper.

Elizabeth Parkhurst Memorial Scholarship

Established through the generous bequest of Elizabeth Parkhurst. Awarded annually to a full- or part-time, graduating student, with demonstrable financial need and/or from a single parent household. English Department faculty recommendation.

John B. Parkhurst Creative Writing Award

The annual John B. Parkhurst Award for excellence in creative writing is awarded during the spring semester by the Department of English. Any SUNY Orange student registered for at least one credit course -- during either the preceding fall or current spring semester -- may enter the competition; any form of creative writing is eligible. Participants should carefully choose, edit, and type their work, submitting no more than the equivalent of two short stories or two short plays or five poems--or a combination of genres. Since work submitted will not be returned, contestants should keep a copy of each work submitted. The recipient of the award will receive a cash prize and a certificate of merit.

Raymond Raimondi Scholarship

Established through the generosity of the late Christopher Schmid ’53, in honor of Raymond Raimondi. Awarded annually to one (1) outstanding male and one (1) outstanding female, continuing students. Based upon the recommendation of the English Department faculty.

Colonel John T. Westermeier Award

Established and generously supported in memory of Col. John T. Westermeier. Awarded annually to a full- or part-time, graduating student. The award is merit based, and awarded upon recommendation of the English Department.