Residence Forms and Information
What is the Residency Requirement?
To qualify for NY resident tuition rates a student must have maintained a legal residence in NY State for one year and in the county for six months immediately preceding the first day of the semester. All NY State residents, who do not complete the residency requirement, will be charged as a non-resident. Proof of residence must be submitted annually.
In accordance with New York State Education Law, Section 6301 each full-time and part-time student residing in New York State must file a Certificate of Residence. The County of Legal Residence for a New York State resident attending a community college contributes to the College a portion of the College's cost for providing services to the student. The basis for assessing counties for this money is the Certificate of Residence.
Certificates are valid for 12 months from the date of issue. A new Certificate must
be submitted each year.
Important Residency Forms
Online Verification of Orange County Residence
|Winter 2021||Winter 2020 - email the "Verification of O.C Residence (PDF)" form, found in the list below, to: email@example.com|
|Spring 2021||Spring 2020 - email the "Verification of O.C Residence (PDF)" form, found in the list below, to: firstname.lastname@example.org|
|Summer 21||Sum. 2020 - email the "Verification of O.C Residence (PDF)" form, found in the list below, to: email@example.com|
|Fall 2021||Fall 2020 - email the "Verification of O.C. Residence (PDF)" form, found in the list below, to: firstname.lastname@example.org|
- Verification of Orange County Residence (PDF)
- Contact information for all other NYS County Residency Certifying Offices (Treasurer/Finance Offices) (PDF)
- Application for Resident Tuition for Undocumented/DACA students under the High School Rule (PDF)
Out of County Certificates of Residence - Due to COVID-19 we have set up a link below to upload your Certificate.
For information on how to obtain a Certificate of Residence from your home county, please check your home county's Treasurer's/Finance Department website, contact information can be found above at the second tab.
Please Note: Due to the current environment, we are aware it may take longer to obtain a Certificate of Residence from your home county, however students are still required to obtain a Certificate of Residence within the guidelines set forth by Education Law, otherwise the non-resident tuition charge will be the student's responsibility.
- Upload your Certificate of Residence issued by your home county (Ex: Sullivan, Dutchess, Bronx)
Required Residency Documentation, due to COVID-19 we have temporarily set up this location for Residency Documentation to be uploaded.(Ex: Documentation requested from the Student Accounts Office)
To prove residence for any county in New York State you must:
- Have resided in New York State for one year AND
- Resided in your home county for six months prior to the first day of classes.
Please follow the instructions below for your home county. Once we receive the appropriate document the non-resident tuition charge will be removed from your account. You may not receive another bill. Make payment by subtracting the non-resident tuition amount from your balance due.
Orange County Resident
If you have resided in Orange county for 12 months prior to the start of the semester.
Complete the Orange County Verification of Residence Form. Submit the original completed form to Student Services Central or mail the completed
form to the Student Accounts Office.
NYS Residents from Counties other than Orange County
A student from a New York county other than Orange is required to submit a "Certificate of Residence" from their county of legal residence covering 6 months prior to the first day of classes. Contact the Treasurer's Office or Chief Fiscal Officer of your home county (see important residency forms above) to inquire about acceptable forms of proof you will need to prove your residency.
Once you have obtained a Certificate of Residence, you must submit the original to the Student Services Central Office or mail the Certificate of Residence to the Student Accounts Office. This will entitle you to pay the resident tuition rate. Please note per New York State Education Law, NY state counties are only required to issue and honor certificates of residence dated no earlier than 60 days prior to the start of classes and no later than 30 days after. After the first 30 days of classes, most counties will no longer issue certificates of residence and payment for the non-resident tuition charge then becomes the student's responsibility. Late certificates can be submitted to our office, but the non-resident tuition will only be removed if your county accepts our billing.
NYS Residents Who Have Lived in More Than One County During the Past Six Months
Contact each county in which you resided, as a certificate of residence will be required from each of those counties. Proceed as indicated above. Students who fail to meet the full six month residence requirement will be charged the non-resident tuition.
A person does not acquire New York State Domicile (legal residence) simply by being physically present in New York State for a period of 12 months or for the sole purpose of attending a New York State College or University. If your principal or permanent home has not been New York State for a 12-month period immediately prior to the start date of the semester, you will be considered an out-of-state student for tuition purposes.
Special Requirements for Immigrant and Undocumented Aliens:
Immigrant Aliens must have held an Alien Identification Card ("green card") for one full year and be able to establish NYS residency to be eligible for resident tuition rates. Foreign students on the following visas do not qualify for the residence rate: F(student), B(visitor), J(exchange), C, D, H2A, H3, H4 if on H2/H3, M, O, P, Q, R, TN, or TD visas.
Pursuant to Section 355 and 6301 of the New York State Education Law certain nonresident students including out of status and undocumented immigrants may be eligible for resident tuition. The undocumented immigrant must meet the following requirements:
- Attended an approved New York State high school for two or more years or attended a GED/TASC Exam Preparation Course
- Graduated from an approved New York State high school or received a NYS GED/TASC Diploma
- Applied for SUNY admission and attended within five years of receiving the NYS diploma or NYS GED/TASC Diploma
- Compete a notarized affidavit stating that the student has filed or intends to file an application to legalize his or her immigration status
Please note the Student Services Central office has a Notary Public available for your convenience.
Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act of 2014
SECTION 702 OF THE CHOICE ACT
Section 702 of the Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act of 2014 ("Choice Act"), requires VA to disapprove programs of education for payment of benefits under the Post-9/11 GI Bill and Montgomery GI Bill-Active Duty at public institutions of higher learning if the schools charge qualifying Veterans and dependents tuition and fees in excess of the rate for resident students for terms beginning after July 1, 2015.
These new requirements will ensure that our Nation's recently discharged Veterans, and their eligible family members, will not have to bear the cost of out-of-state charges while using their well-deserved education benefits.
DO PUBLIC SCHOOLS HAVE TO OFFER IN-STATE RATES TO ALL VETERANS AND DEPENDENTS TO MEET THE REQUIREMENTS OF SECTION 702?
No. To remain approved for VA's GI Bill programs, schools must charge in-state tuition and fee amounts to "covered individuals." A "covered individual" is defined in the Choice Act as:
- A Veteran who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence).
- A spouse or child using Chapter 33 or Chapter 35 benefits who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence).
- A spouse or child using the benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence).
Providing the college with proof of residency is an important step in your registration process. Students who fail to present documentation will be charged non-resident tuition. Please contact the Student Accounts Office at (845) 341-4830 if you have any questions about the proper way to complete the requirement.