Facebook Ad Pixel Saving Your Work

Saving Your Work

How to Save Your Work

Click on the floppy disk icon in the JustEdit toolbar to save your changes to the web page. (This toolbar is only visible when you are editing web page content.) This icon is indicated with an arrow in the screen shots below. You can save as many times as you like. Your changes will be saved to the staging server. Saving your work does not make it appear on the college website. The web page you are editing won't be updated on the website until you submit your new version for publication and it is accepted and published. 

The full JustEdit toolbar in OU Campus is shown. The floppy disk icon for saving in highlighted.

The floppy disk icon is shown on the editing toolbar on the left side of the top row. If you hover over the icon, a tool tip The left side of the editing JustEdit toolbar is shown, enlarged. The floppy disk icon is highlighted. The mouse pointer is over the icon and the text "Save And Exit" is shown. The floppy disk icon for saving in highlighted and the tool tip text "Save and Exit" is shown.will pop up that says, "Save And Exit". Just as it says, when you save your work by clicking on the floppy icon, you will leave edit mode and have to get back into it before you can continue to make changes.

Things to Watch Out For

Always save your work before you submit changes

If you have edited a page and submit the page to be published without saving your changes first, you will see this warning :

"Confirm: You have unsaved changes. Are you sure you want to submit for approval? All unsaved changes will be lost."

A screen shot of this message is shown below:

Warning box message: "Confirm: You have unsaved changes. Are you sure you want to submit for approval? All unsaved changes will be lost." There are two buttons: "Cancel" and "OK"


Unless you read this message carefully, it can be confusing. Make sure you click the "Cancel" button, then save your work, then submit the page to be published again after that. Be careful, if you click the OK button instead of Cancel, you will lose all of your work! 

Don't Confuse Saving a Version with Saving a Page

In OU Campus you can save a version of a page as well as saving your changes to it. These are not the same thing! Make sure you don't accidentally click on the "Save Version" icon instead of the floppy disk "Save and Exit" icon when you want to save your work. The "Save version" icon looks like a box with a downward pointing arrow and is found in the Page Actions toolbar above the editing toolbar.

In the screen shot of the Page Actions toolbar below, the "Save Versions" icon is indicated with an arrow and the tool tip text "Save Version" is shown. The text appears when you hover over the "Save Version" icon. Saving versions is used to back up old versions of your web page. It can be very useful, but it won't save any changes you haven't already saved with the "Save and Exit" command (clicking on the floppy disk icon).

Screen shot of the Page Actions toolbar showing difference between the "Save Versions" icon there and the "Save" icon in the JustEdit toolbar

Use the floppy disk icon in the JustEdit toolbar to save your work instead.

Save Early and Save Often

It is a good idea to save your work frequently, especially before you work on something else outside of OU Campus. If you leave your OU Campus window alone for too long, you will be timed out of your OU Campus account and you may lose any unsaved work.

Once you have saved your changes, you can get out of OU Campus and come back to it later. When you do, any changes you have saved will still be there and you can either submit your page for publication or continue editing.

Note for former Contribute users

In OU Campus, you can save your work at any point, as often as you like. Your new content is saved to the OU Campus staging server online, so whenever you log back into your OU Campus account on any PC, you will be able to pick up where you left off.

This is different from the way Contribute worked. If you saved your work there, it was stored on the hard drive on your PC and you had to make sure you used the same PC to be able to see your saved content.